
Europe
Zermatt
For 2026-27, Zermatt is on the Ikon Pass (7 days). Lifts run from 5,315 ft (1,620 m) to 12,792 ft (3,899 m), a vertical drop of 7,477 ft (2,279 m) across 360 km pistes, with about 163 inches of snow a year.
Zermatt sits beneath the iconic Matterhorn and anchors the cross-border Matterhorn Ski Paradise, lift-linked with Breuil-Cervinia and Valtournenche in Italy. Topping out at 3,899m, it is the highest ski area in the Alps with year-round glacier skiing, vast intermediate terrain, and some of Europe's most reliable high-altitude snow. The car-free village pairs world-class skiing with luxury Alpine resort character.
Ski passes at Zermatt, 2026-27
| Pass | Access | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Ikon Pass | 7 days | Full Ikon Pass = up to 7 days at Zermatt Matterhorn with no blackouts; Ikon Base Pass = up to 5 days (Zermatt is in Base's no-blackout group); Ikon Session Pass does not list Zermatt. Check on ikonpass.com whether the Ikon days cover the Italian side (Cervinia) or only the Swiss lifts before crossing. |
Not on the Epic Pass, Mountain Collective or Indy Pass this season.
Zermatt is an Ikon destination, not Epic; there is no Epic Pass access at Zermatt for 2026-27 (Epic's Swiss partners are Verbier, Crans-Montana and Vail-owned Andermatt).
Matterhorn Ski Paradise sells a Zermatt-only pass and an International pass that adds Breuil-Cervinia/Valtournenche (360 km in total). 2026-27 season passes start from CHF 1,750 (Zermatt) and CHF 1,850 (International), rising the later you buy.
Lift ticket prices
Adult day tickets for 2026-27 start from CHF 89. Fully dynamic pricing with no published cap: adult day passes start from CHF 89 (Zermatt only) and CHF 104 (International incl. Cervinia) in the cheapest periods (1-27 Nov 2026, 19 Apr - 2 May 2027); holiday prices are higher and not disclosed, so buy online early.
Terrain Breakdown
Zermatt elevation, altitude and mountain stats
Peaks and base areas
| Peak | Gobba di Rollin — Highest point of the ski area, on the Theodul/Plateau Rosa glacier; lift-served | 12,792 ft (3,899 m) |
| Peak | Klein Matterhorn / Matterhorn Glacier Paradise — Europe's highest cable car station; the 14.6 km longest run starts here | 12,740 ft (3,883 m) |
| Peak | Rothorn — Top of the Sunnegga-Rothorn sector | 10,180 ft (3,103 m) |
| Peak | Gornergrat — Top station of the Gornergrat cog railway | 10,135 ft (3,089 m) |
| Base | Zermatt valley station | 5,315 ft (1,620 m) |
| Base | Breuil-Cervinia (Italy) | 6,726 ft (2,050 m) |
Highlights
Pros
- ✓Enormous lift-linked terrain spanning Switzerland and Italy
- ✓Exceptional high-altitude snow reliability into spring
- ✓Long, sweeping intermediate cruising runs
- ✓Summer glacier skiing available year-round
- ✓Spectacular Matterhorn scenery throughout the area
Cons
- ✗Among the most expensive ski resorts in the Alps
- ✗Limited true expert/steep marked terrain (only 8% difficult)
- ✗Long, multi-stage journeys to reach the highest slopes
Quick answers
Is Zermatt on the Ikon Pass?
Yes. For the 2026-27 season the Ikon Pass includes 7 days at Zermatt. Full Ikon Pass = up to 7 days at Zermatt Matterhorn with no blackouts; Ikon Base Pass = up to 5 days (Zermatt is in Base's no-blackout group); Ikon Session Pass does not list Zermatt. Check on ikonpass.com whether the Ikon days cover the Italian side (Cervinia) or only the Swiss lifts before crossing.
What is the elevation of Zermatt?
Zermatt sits at an altitude of 5,315 ft (1,620 m) at the base and 12,792 ft (3,899 m) above sea level at the top of the lifts, for 7,477 ft (2,279 m) of vertical drop. Named peaks and lift tops: Gobba di Rollin at 12,792 ft (3,899 m), Klein Matterhorn / Matterhorn Glacier Paradise at 12,740 ft (3,883 m), Rothorn at 10,180 ft (3,103 m) and Gornergrat at 10,135 ft (3,089 m).
How big is Zermatt?
Zermatt has 360 km pistes, 50 lifts and 145 runs.
How much snow does Zermatt get?
About 163 inches (414 cm) a year on average, as reported by the resort.
How much is a lift ticket at Zermatt?
Adult day tickets for 2026-27 start from CHF 89 in the quietest weeks; pricing is dynamic and peak dates cost more. Fully dynamic pricing with no published cap: adult day passes start from CHF 89 (Zermatt only) and CHF 104 (International incl. Cervinia) in the cheapest periods (1-27 Nov 2026, 19 Apr - 2 May 2027); holiday prices are higher and not disclosed, so buy online early.
When does Zermatt open for the season?
Scheduled for 2026-27: opening 2026-11-01 (glacier sectors; lower areas open later; glacier skiing runs year-round), closing 2027-05-03. Dates move with snowfall, so check the resort before booking.
Is Zermatt on the Epic Pass?
No. For 2026-27 Zermatt is on the Ikon Pass (7 days on the full pass, 5 on Ikon Base) and not on Epic, Mountain Collective or Indy.
Is Zermatt good for snowboarding?
Yes. Snowboarding is allowed on every lift, and the Gravity Park snowpark sits on the Theodul glacier, where it runs in summer too. Most of the 360 km is long red cruising (about 61% red), which suits confident riders; the glacier sectors have some flat traverses to watch for.
How much is a Zermatt ski pass?
Prices are dynamic: a 2026-27 adult day pass starts from CHF 89 for Zermatt only or CHF 104 for the International pass including Cervinia, and costs more on busy dates. Season passes start at CHF 1,750 / CHF 1,850.
Skier Insightssummarized from Reddit trip reports and ski forum reviews
Zermatt is the postcard that skis. The village is car-free, the hotels creak with 150 years of alpinism history, and the Matterhorn hangs over every run like a rendering too perfect to be real. Skiers' verdicts follow a reliable arc: astonishment at the scenery and scale, delight at cruising into Italy for a €15 pasta lunch, and a wince at every Swiss receipt. Since Zermatt joined the Ikon Pass (7 days on the full pass, no blackouts), it's become the pass network's flagship European redemption, and the 2023 Matterhorn Alpine Crossing sealed the year-round lift link with Cervinia into a combined ~360km playground.
What the brochure undersells: this is an altitude resort, not a snowfall resort. With lifts to 3,883m — the highest in the Alps — Zermatt banks on cold, high pistes rather than storm totals, which makes it the continent's most reliable choice for March, April, and iffy seasons, and a mediocre one for powder chasing. Intermediates get the best of it: enormous red-run mileage across three linked sectors, the Gornergrat's cruisers under the Monte Rosa massif, and monster top-to-bottom descents. Experts work harder — the marked steeps are limited, and the real fun lives in the Stockhorn/Triftji mogul-and-freeride zone and the yellow itinerary routes, which want good coverage. Everyone shares two frictions: long multi-stage lift commutes to start the day, and wind closures up high that can also sever the Italy link — the community's cardinal rule is to watch the weather before lunching in Cervinia, because getting stranded means a very expensive trip around the mountain.
Zermatt suits intermediates and scenery-driven travelers with real budgets, spring-trip planners, and Ikon holders cashing their best European days; powder-focused experts should point their money at St. Anton or Chamonix instead. Cost control is possible — stay in Täsch and ride the 12-minute shuttle train, hit the Coop for lunches, eat your big meals on the Italian side — but this remains one of skiing's priciest addresses alongside Courchevel and Aspen. March is the sweet spot: full domain open, softened temperatures, and the Matterhorn out in the sun for the photo you came for.
What skiers like
- +The Matterhorn is in your eyeline all day, every day — no ski resort on earth has a better backdrop, and even jaded skiers admit the novelty never fades
- +Highest lift-served skiing in the Alps (3,883m at the Klein Matterhorn) means the best snow security in Europe — March and April conditions here embarrass most resorts' January
- +The cross-border link to Cervinia and Valtournenche creates a ~360km network, and lunch in Italy at half Swiss prices is a daily ritual worth planning around
- +Full Ikon Pass holders get 7 days (5 on Base) with no blackout dates — one of the best-value luxury redemptions on the pass
- +The Matterhorn Alpine Crossing 3S lift (2023) made the Italy connection weatherproof-ish and queue-free in both directions for sightseers and skiers alike
- +Intermediate cruising is glorious: the Gornergrat sector's long reds, Sunnegga's morning corduroy, and a 2,200m+ vertical descent from Klein Matterhorn to town when conditions allow
- +The car-free village runs on electric taxis and horse sleighs, and by five-star Alpine standards it retains genuine mountaineering-town bones
- +Year-round glacier skiing on the Theodul plus the Gornergrat railway make it the Alps trip that works even in a bad snow year
Common complaints
- −The prices are the running joke of European skiing — CHF 30 mountain-lunch mains, CHF 8 beers, and hotel rates that make Aspen shrug in recognition
- −Marked steep terrain is thin (about 8% of runs) — experts rely on the Stockhorn/Triftji mogul fields and yellow-marked freeride itineraries, and big snow years are needed for those to shine
- −Natural snowfall is modest (~160 inches) — altitude, not storm frequency, carries the resort, so powder hunters are usually in the wrong place
- −Getting to the goods takes time: from a village bed to the Klein Matterhorn summit is a multi-stage, 40-60 minute lift journey, and morning commute queues at the Matterhorn Express are real
- −High-wind days close the upper cable cars and the Italy link — skiers who dawdle in Cervinia when closures roll in face a multi-hour, multi-hundred-euro journey back around
- −Beginner terrain sits awkwardly high and fragmented; novices ride lifts down and progression is clumsier than the price tag implies
- −Early season on the lower mountain is thin-cover roulette, with lots of downloading from mid-stations
- −Cars stop at Täsch — everyone transfers to the shuttle train with luggage, which is charming exactly once per trip
Common Questions
How does skiing into Italy (Cervinia) work?
Is Zermatt good for expert skiers?
When is the best time to visit?
How do I keep a Zermatt trip affordable?
Is Zermatt worth it for beginners?
Pass and ticket details checked 2026-09-30. Sources: matterhornparadise.ch, matterhornparadise.ch, schneehoehen.de, ikonpass.com, headless.skimag.com, snowindustrynews.com
Photo: Wikimedia Commons
← Back to All Resorts